The Philippine Society of General Internal Medicine or PSGIM was created to fulfill a need in Philippine society for a group focused on making the practice of Internal Medicine relevant to the people at the grassroots level. By complementing the trend of hyperspecialization with its brand of holism, the PSGIM seeks to transform General Internal Medicine into a viable and fulfilling career in the Philippines.

To provide high-quality, evidence-based healthcare for the community, that strikes a balance between technologic excellence and social relevance; to develop and test innovations in the eaching and practice of General Internal Medicine; and to inspire and nurture leaders in the practice and teaching of General Internal Medicine.

"To assure competent, compassionate and holistic care for every adult Filipino through the advancement of the art and science of Internal Medicine."

Philippine Society of General Internal Medicine

Back in May 3, 2011, 172 passionate internists finally decided it's time for change - it's time for general internal medicine to get the spotlight. In a meeting attended by three past presidents of the Philippine College of Physicians who are colleagues who share our same passion, a manifesto was signed calling for the formation of a new medical society - one that would build a dedicated network of practicing general internists, advocate and establish career paths for IM trainees aspiring to be generalist, and develop innovations in the teaching and practice of General Internal Medicine. On November 11, 2011, Internal Medicine was reborn in this country with the formal incorporation of the Philippine Society of General Internal Medicine.

At Your Service: PSGIM Board of Trustees and Officers for Fiscal Year 2016-2017

PresidentDiana Tamondong-Lachica
Vice-PresidentArnold Benjamin Mina
SecretaryRosemarie Josue-Dominguez
TreasurerEliza Valenzuela
Members of the Board
John Dennis AlcarazSanny Flaviano Caballero
Antonio Miguel DansRodel Delgado
Aldrin LoyolaHansel Magno
Lia Aileen Palileo-VillanuevaNorman Rabago
Joseph Cary TomadaFrancel Villarin
PCP Regent CoordinatorChad Rey Carungin